Customer Reviews

Gorgeous outdoor back space for chillaxing or entertaining. Clean, quiet and peaceful all around. Carrie’s great at communicating as well if you have any questions about stuff. 100% plan on returning!

Peter Avatar
Peter
5/30/2022

We spent our honeymoon at Black Lava Lodge and would do it all over again without a second thought if we could! Everything about our stay was perfect and leaving paradise was incredibly difficult. Communication with the host was respectful and easy.

The location offers the perfect secluded desert experience but is close enough to JT NP and the surrounding towns to satisfy any of your needs. Super close to Pappy & Harriet's so we were able to catch a great outdoor concert while we were there.

The amenities/extra touches (outdoor blankets, aromatherapy, stargazing hammock, yoga mats, endless kitchen equipment, outdoor games, etc) were very appreciated and enjoyed. We loved the JT coffee so much that we even went out to buy more and bring it back to share with our family and friends!

Carrie was transparent and responsive when a previous issue with the water/well needed to be fixed during our stay. This led to no negative effects on our vacation and was much appreciated.

We can't wait until we have a chance to make it back to Black Lava Lodge!

Sharon Avatar
Sharon
5/14/2022

We loved our stay and thought Carrie was a great host. She was communicative and flexible as the attendee count and dates in our group evolved over time, including the eventual use of the darling bunkhouse.

The location made us feel like we had a true desert experience, while still being close to civilization. The photos and other reviews were spot on. The amenities were thoughtful (special blankets for outside use, spa towels for the jacuzzi, yoga mats) and we appreciated the clear labels and instructions that made our stay a breeze. The only thing we would have loved to have would be umbrellas or other options for shade on the back patio.

We enjoyed and would recommend the following nearby:
-Joshua Tree Bottle Shop (nicely curated selection, knowledgable staff, reasonable prices)
-The DEZ fine food takeaway (elevated sandwiches, pastries, salads, quiches, sausage rolls, lattes, chocolates, etc.)- YUM

We made great memories at the Black Lava Lodge and would recommend it to others. Thank you, Carrie!

Suzanne Avatar
Suzanne
4/21/2022

Great location!! Very relaxing, inviting and clean retreat. Helpful info everywhere! Great place to stay.

Jared Avatar
Jared
4/15/2022

This was such a beautiful space and location - even more so than the pictures show! It really feels like you’re staying at a cool boutique hotel - the little touches and thoughtful design choices did not go unnoticed. Carrie has thought of it all, and our family of four really enjoyed everything about this stay: the views, all the outdoor spaces, the spa, and the super cozy beds.

Jordan Avatar
Jordan
4/11/2022

Great location with beautiful views. Loved the outdoor space! Quiet and peaceful surroundings.

Susan Avatar
Susan
4/02/2022

Black Lava Lodge was a fabulous experience – so much so that we extended our stay! It is a great relief to arrive at a place and not have to think about anything because the hosts have done it for you. Such a well-maintained space with attention paid to every detail. Cool art, great décor and a fab vinyl album selection. The kitchen has everything one needs and the Joshua Tree Coffee is such a nice touch! The living room fireplace was super cozy on the cooler evenings. Very restful sleep in a super comfy bed. (USB chargers bedside – yay!) Glorious outdoor space can’t be beat. We took full advantage of everything… the lounge area, spa under a moonlit sky, firepit, etc. Appreciated thoughtful details like lanterns, flashlights, outdoor blankets, towels and robes! So lux! Wowzer sunsets, glorious view of the mountains and hiking right out the back door. The sushi from Kimi Grill is the best – don’t let the location inside the Travel Lodge deter you! (We had it twice.) Also, just down the road is the famous Pappy and Harriet’s (get there 30 minutes before opening to get a table early.) We found BLL a perfect base to explore Joshua Tree NP. Carrie was very responsive and gracious, and proactive with all the info we needed when the power went out for a hot second. When searching for a place to stay in the Joshua Tree area, we hesitated a minute wondering if the off-road would be a negative factor, but it absolutely should not be a deterrent and is very tame. The privacy this place affords is worth the small effort to get to it. We can’t imagine a better place to stay in the area and are already eyeing a return next year with family!

Angela And Joe Avatar
Angela And Joe
3/18/2022

The attention to detail was extraordinary regarding all aspects of this rental. Everything was thought of ahead of time, especially regarding the directions and check-in.

The photos of the home cannot show how the 360-degree views of the home put you in the middle of a private desert paradise. Your back yard has never-ending views and the perfect view of a desert sunset, and your front yard looks out to boulders and Joshua trees. We were there during a cold week in March but still took advantage of the outdoor spaces. Especially the firepit and hot tub. I can imagine the warm desert nights allow for more opportunities to enjoy the expansive outdoor spaces.

I know we had neighbors while out there, but they are far enough away that you actually feel like you are the only people there for miles. There's great hiking nearby at "Sand to Snow: Black Lava Butte and Flat Top Mesa" - we hiked for 4 miles and did not see another soul the entire time. Joshua Tree National Park is a short drive away and was the perfect distance for a day trip. Also, Pioneertown was a fun visit and we really enjoyed Pappy & Harriet's for their food and drink. We hope to return to see a show there next time!

The home is the perfect getaway size for two couples. There are two nearly identical bedrooms that both have their own bathrooms. Yes, the kitchen is on the smaller side, but it worked just fine for a home rental use. And be prepared for comfy beds! I don't know what kind of mattress and bedding they use, but I want the same for my home.

I can't say enough good things about this property and all the special details that went above and beyond most rentals. Thank you Carrie for allowing us to enjoy your beautiful home for a very special getaway.

Lisa Avatar
Lisa
3/06/2022

Loved staying here. Just like the pictures. The views of the mountains were gorgeous. Very private and far from the real world. 🙂

Ted Avatar
Ted
2/28/2022

Fantastic house, fantastic host. Can’t wait to go back!

Christine Avatar
Christine
2/21/2022

We had the perfect stay at Carrie's home in PT. Thoughtful amenities and house was great for 2 couples. Loved the outdoor space and hiking in the front yard - we'll be back!

Michelle Avatar
Michelle
2/19/2022

We loved our stay! This house was just right, comfortable, stylish and cozy, and we appreciated all the details!
The location was terrific - with hiking out the door, and quiet solitude. Nice outdoor spaces (front and back sitting areas, fire pit, outdoor shower).
Carrie was very helpful and easy to communicate with.

Carla Avatar
Carla
2/15/2022

Nice simple home, close to pioneer town and yucca valley. Very comfortable beds. Had a great stay

Michael Avatar
Michael
2/06/2022

Enjoyed a wonderful visit to the high desert at the Black Lava Lodge. The house was perfect and immaculate, the kitchen well-appointed, and the hot tub divine. What really makes this place special is that it is literally steps to the Sand to Snow National Monument, a beautiful unspoiled area with some amazing hiking (and without the requisite crowds you find at Joshua Tree National Park!). The Lodge is only 15 minutes for Pioneertown and Pappy & Harriet's (great BBQ). Very quiet, with an occasional coyote barking at the stars at night. What an awesome getaway!

Ken Avatar
Ken
2/01/2022

We loved this house! The pictures are spot on and it has everything you need. Just a warning that the dirt road getting there is a bit intense but, other than that, seriously perfect. We loved the touches of the fresh local coffee, robes, Yeti mugs, etc. The hot tub was always hot and the desert views are awesome. Great stay and highly recommended.

Daria Avatar
Daria
1/24/2022

Carrie’s home was the perfect house for a long weekend stay. The beds were incredibly comfy- as were the linens. The kitchen was stocked with everything you could possibly need and the home itself was extremely close to pioneertown and a short drive to JT. The landscape was magnificent.

Would highly recommend her property and certainly look forward to our next stay!

Sarah Avatar
Sarah
1/03/2022

Location is incredible, boulders, joshua trees and lots of space! The home is wonderful with great amenities, we had a blast thank you.

Sevag Avatar
Sevag
12/29/2021

Gorgeous private place with awesome amenities!

Daniel Avatar
Daniel
12/24/2021

Black Lava Lodge is a stellar spot to enjoy Pioneertown and surrounding area. The house is organized thoughtfully down to the last detail and offers every amenity to enjoys ones’ self whether you are hanging around at the house all day, hiking on the great trail just up the road or coming home from a long day in the national park. The house is cozy with a great lay out. This property invites you to enjoy life out doors at any time a day with a variety of couches, dining tables, fire pits, the hot tub and shower, and the view as great anywhere you look. You do see some other houses but they are not close. The towels and robes are thick and soft, the dishes are nice, coffee delicious and the knives sharp. The house and surround was immaculately clean. The vinyl record collection kept us entertained for days. We would love to come back!

Izak Avatar
Izak
11/25/2021

This is probably the best experience I’ve ever had with an Airbnb. The property itself is stunning with incredible sunrise and sunset views overlooking the valley below. The house is beautifully and thoughtfully decorated with extra touches including robes for the spa, an assortment of records, and the well stocked kitchen. All the appliances including the AC units and outdoor propane fire place feel brand new and top of the line - Carrie seems to have thought of everything and she was very quick to respond to any communication. We ended up extending our trip from 3 to 5 nights - will definitely be coming back to this one!

Abi Avatar
Abi
11/15/2021

If I could give the space, and the amenities, ten stars I would. A first class experience all around! The location was remote enough to feel very private, yet close enough to Pioneertown and Yucca Valley to make restaurants and stores accessible if needed. And the views are unbelievable. Will definitely go back again!

Bob Avatar
Bob
11/09/2021

Carrie is an amazing host and Black Lava Lodge is a very special home. We will visit time and time again.

Zena Avatar
Zena
11/01/2021

Black Lava Lodge is a wonderful place to stay and we did not want to leave when our time was up. The home was very clean and supplied very well. The area around the home was beautifully maintained and manicured. There was a great instruction book that answered most of our questions. The jacuzzi was perfect and we used it several times a day. We would come back again.

Chip Avatar
Chip
10/22/2021

Carrie is a wonderful host and communicates quickly when you need her. She prepares you with all the details and her house manual and little instruction placards around the house make it easy to use facility’s and equipment. Thanks Carrie for a wonderful birthday weekend!

Charnelle Avatar
Charnelle
10/11/2021

Great, really well laid out and appointed property. the shade were thick so the bedrooms stayed dark, when the sun came up (much appreciated!) The hot tub was awesome - all of the outside was really well thought out and sympathically designed for the desert with lovely views both front and back. The place is perfect for 3 or 4 adults.
the beds and bedding are really comfortable!
It's a one cook kitchen. but that is noted in the description.
We had a really love peaceful comfortable time and would recommend for sure!

Robin Avatar
Robin
10/03/2021

Can't find a more peaceful place for decompression and stargazing.

Greg Avatar
Greg
9/04/2021

Carrie is a magnificent and attentive host! Her place does the perfect job at being an escape from the busy work schedule where you can relax and unwind. This is my second time at black lava and will definitely not be the last!

Tai Avatar
Tai
7/27/2021

The combination of the outside amenities coupled with the remote beauty of the home’s location made this an amazing experience!

Kenneth Avatar
Kenneth
6/28/2021

By far the best place to stay in Joshua Tree! We’re a group of four friends who have been coming to JTree once a year for a few years now and the Black Lava Lodge is by far the best place we’ve stayed in. The area is amazing and you get just around the house almost the same JTree density and you’d get inside the park.

The house is beautiful, the amenities are great and you really get a feeling that it has been purposefully designed to the smallest details. From having a shaded place to sit outside on both sides of the house so that you can be outside in the morning and in the afternoon. The windows in the living room allowing you to see the sunrise and everything else really just feels very much planned.

Thank you Carrie!

Eran Avatar
Eran
6/13/2021

Our stay at the Black Lava Lodge has been a fabulous getaway! We enjoyed the charming house as much as the great outdoor spaces. I was a bit skeptical to travel in a desert city with our one and half year old girl, but the lodge is perfectly equipped and super comfy. The 8-acres fields have been an amazing playground with many birds, cottontail rabbits, lizards... but also a wonderful relaxing zone where we enjoyed having a drink on the patio, gathering around the fire pit or resting after a hiking day in the bubbles of the new hot tub.
We definitely loved the perfect balance between adventures and peaceful rest!

Marion Avatar
Marion
5/31/2021

Black Lava Lodge exceeded our expectations. So many thoughtful touches and a beautiful and well stocked home. Can't wait to come back and visit soon!

Jo Avatar
Jo
5/16/2021

Amazing home with incomparable desert mountain view’s. Perfect size for 2 couples and has everything you could want or need. Super relaxing, close to hiking and literally next door to Pioneertown. Can’t wait to come back!

Jordan Avatar
Jordan
4/13/2021

The Black Lava Lodge really exceeded our expectations! If you - like us - live in crowded major metropolis and feel a need to get away from people for awhile, this place on the outskirts of Pioneertown near Joshua Tree National Park in the Mojave Desert might be exactly what you're looking for. The pictures, although quite accurate, really don't do the place justice. It's very tastefully appointed with many awesome little touches - from bathrobes, to thick spa towels, to an aromatherapy device on the bedside table, to the record player and vinyl collection. We spent a lot of our time there on the porch and patio just enjoying the fresh air, the sunsets and the stars. Although we generally like to explore different places on our vacations, we could see ourselves someday wanting to return to the Black Lava Lodge.

Tekla Avatar
Tekla
4/10/2021

The pictures do not do it justice. The property is absolutely gorgeous. The place is thoughtfully designed and they have everything you could possibly need and more for a remote relaxing desert experience.

Ciara Avatar
Ciara
4/01/2021

Excellent stay - near the park and feels like you're in the park! Jacuzzi and fire pit a plus!

Jimmy Avatar
Jimmy
3/28/2021

Amazing views, well appointed home, cozy interior. We went as a family, but would be great for a group too.

Mia Avatar
Mia
3/26/2021

We loved our time at Black Lava Lodge. The scenery around the house is stunning. Feels very private but close to anything you need. Especially enjoyed the hot tub and lounging on the patio. Only regret not staying longer!

Anna Avatar
Anna
3/23/2021

breathtaking views, a very special property you will be very happy with this choice, would go back again in a heart beat!

Dean Avatar
Dean
3/21/2021

We had a lovely 8 day stay at Black Lava Lodge - great amenities, a fully stocked kitchen, gorgeous decor and stunning surroundings desert landscape, it was the perfect base camp as we explored Joshua Tree! It was close enough to the sights, but far enough to give you a sense of isolation and peace in these crazy times.

Carrie was super warm and communicative! There was a gas snafu we couldn’t figure out and she sent someone to have it sorted right away! We loved sipping our coffee on the front porch in the morning and soaking in the hot tub in the evening after a long day of hiking! We even had a Coyote visit one day! Highly recommend a stay here!

Anisha Avatar
Anisha
3/19/2021

We had an amazing trip!! Couldn’t believe how quiet and beautiful the views were. Even better than I expected! We had many peaceful walks on the property and saw a coyote, roadrunner, and a couple black tail hares which was awesome to see! The lodging was very tasteful and relaxing it almost felt like a spa-very clean and had everything you need the host was very helpful. The whole trip was like a step back to simpler times, great place to recharge! We feel lucky that it was even available!

Nikohl Avatar
Nikohl
2/21/2021

We had an amazing trip!! Couldn’t believe how quiet and beautiful the views were. Even better than I expected! We had many peaceful walks on the property and saw a coyote, roadrunner, and a couple black tail hares which was awesome to see! The lodging was very tasteful and relaxing it almost felt like a spa-very clean and had everything you need the host was very helpful. The whole trip was like a step back to simpler times, great place to recharge! We feel lucky that it was even available!

N Avatar
N
2/21/2021

Great amenities and great service definitely would come again

Tony Avatar
Tony
2/13/2021

Hands down the best Air BnB in The Pioneertown/Joshua Tree/Yucca Valley/Morongo Basin Area. If you are currently deciding between another place and this one, it should be a no brainer: This one.

Roland Avatar
Roland
2/12/2021

Carrie’s place is wonderful.. we had the best time relaxing in the desert. We strived for seclusion and plenty of outdoor space and that is exactly what we got! Tons of hiking/ rock climbing walking right from the front door. Impeccably clean home. Carrie was super responsive and helpful with local suggestions. Can’t wait to go back!

Angela Avatar
Angela
1/31/2021

My husband and I stayed in this lovely home for a long weekend to celebrate his birthday. It was more than we expected and we thoroughly enjoyed EVERY SECOND! My personal favorite feature was the chlorine-free hot tub where we could watch and be mesmerized by the incredible night sky. The last night we were there we saw 3 shooting stars. If you're looking for a quiet, gorgeous, modern home to retreat to this is the place. I also aprpeciated all the details - yoga mats, blankets to use when you're haning out by the fire, a really cool record player with the perfect records for a desert weekend vibe, reverse osmosis water filter (I'm a water girl and this was REALLY important to me), and the list goes on. Definitely recommend. Worth every penny. 🙂

Amy Avatar
Amy
1/18/2021

The space is a perfect getaway from LA! The outdoor areas are perfect for watching the sunset over the desert landscape. Carrie was super responsive and made the process very easy. Lots of guides and signage to answer all your questions during the stay. It is definitely off the beaten path and down a dirt road so had to be home before sundown! Definitely recommend and will stay again.

Arielle Avatar
Arielle
1/05/2021

Great

Ohad Avatar
Ohad
1/01/2021

This is an excellent Airbnb. The house has really nice amenities (fireplace, spa, meditation cube!) and a beautiful location with views out every window. From soft spa robes to Mexican blankets to Le Crueset cookware, everything is tastefully thought out. And the Sand to Snow preserve across the street means you can hike the desert without ever leaving.

Alexandra Avatar
Alexandra
12/29/2020

A patch of heaven in the desert. Do the hike about a mile down the road, incredible! beautiful house, serene and loads of thoughtful touches. A+

Jason Avatar
Jason
12/24/2020

LOVED our time here. Perfect getaway with unbelievable views. Would love to make it a yearly retreat!

Matthew Avatar
Matthew
12/21/2020

After months of cancelled travel and staying at home, Black Lava Lodge was just what we needed. A place that felt like home, but also felt like an oasis in the wilderness that has been 2020. We cooked all our meals here in the small but complete kitchen, lounged by the indoor fireplace morning and evening, enjoyed the hot tub and fire pit, took several walks, hikes, scrambles up rocks right out the front door. The desert in the Joshua Tree area never fails to inspire and heal; the awe inspiring rock formations, Suess-like plant life and incredible star at night. Highly recommend if you really want get away from it all.

Vanessa Avatar
Vanessa
12/17/2020

Carrie’s place, The Black Lava Lodge, is hands down the best Airbnb we have ever stayed in. Beautiful, stylish house. Amazing outdoor spaces. The location, view and property are what really set it apart. We loved the jacuzzi at night looking at the stars. Loved the record player and fully stocked kitchen for cooking. Also best knives I have ever used at an Airbnb.

Daniel Avatar
Daniel
12/06/2020

Carrie is an exceptional host, fast to respond, thoughtful, detail oriented - we loved staying in Carrie's beautiful home and loved all of the details and thought.

Kate Avatar
Kate
11/27/2020

A great, quiet, beautiful home for a serene, isolated experience.

We had such a wonderful time at Black Lava. The home had all the amenities we needed, both inside and out, to make our experience one of a kind.

Carrie was very responsive to our needs and made our trip very enjoyable.

We will definitely be staying at this property again and highly recommend it if you want a place to stay near Joshua Tree.

Dusty Avatar
Dusty
11/13/2020

The Airbnb was amazing. Great amenities and views. Additionally, Carrie was very responsive in helping us during technical difficulties on our first night, with the rest of the trip being better than expected.

Shane Avatar
Shane
11/08/2020

I was looking for a great place to escape and enjoy some quiet and serenity. This home was ideal for that! Great host! Very cool home.

James Avatar
James
11/05/2020

Incredible location, and Carrie was SUPER responsive when we needed to communicate. Amazing place, highly recommend!

Ashwin Avatar
Ashwin
11/02/2020

The location of the home is nuts beautiful! And was incredibly well appointed with everything you’d want in a getaway home.

Sally Avatar
Sally
10/27/2020

Lovely well-appointed place with great dessert views and excellent outdoor space. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Wendy Avatar
Wendy
10/23/2020

Black Lava Lodge will NOT disappoint you! Everything is placed perfectly in the house and all over the property! Very secluded from other properties in the area. This was a mini honeymoon for us and we enjoyed every second! Thanks Carrie!!

Also, follow the directions she provided (Curtis Road is not a road that will get you to BLL; from experience)! =)

Trevor Avatar
Trevor
10/12/2020

Great spot, incredibly quiet, thoughtful touches throughout!

Cisca Avatar
Cisca
9/28/2020

Our stay was flawless. Carrie was very attentive and promptly replied to any questions we had with the property. The property itself was huge and offered awesome views of the valley. Perfect for star gazing and just letting nature sink in. The house itself was perfectly appointed. Everything was perfectly laid out and clean. Living area was spacious and comfy and the back yard was really fun to hang out in. Would definitely book again.

Dennis Avatar
Dennis
9/26/2020

The lodge is a beautifully thought out design. You can feel the insight and care that has gone into the creation of this place.

With the wide valley and Sawtooth Mountains below and the boulder rock cliffs behind,
It's a perfectly situated setting to experience the beauty of this desert area.

Everything is thoughtfully set up for a low impact, healthy chem free, relaxing, fun experience.

I was there during the hotter temp times and really appreciated the solid AC during the day.

The Outdoor shower, the HotTub without Chlorine are the bomb, it just takes a lil care in how you use it...and w/ a new moon, the star gazing was fantastic.

Carrie has been a fantastic host, timely responsive, clear, and available if needed.

She was also flexible when I had to make a quick change of dates. I appreciated how much I felt supported in creating this trip.

Definitely pay attention to all direction instructions. (Hidden by Airbnb) maps or such might lead you astray!

Thanks for such a sweet little respite, a way to see my local fam, and will def be back in the future!

Marisa Avatar
Marisa
9/18/2020

Truly gorgeous 360 degree location and peaceful, clean home. Extremely helpful and prompt communications!

Chelsea Avatar
Chelsea
9/15/2020

Lovely retreat, stylish & cozy. Very well stocked kitchen if you like to cook. Property is private & remote but convenient to Pioneertown and the national park.

Chenoa Avatar
Chenoa
9/01/2020

We absolutely loved our stay! The house is gorgeous, clean and spacious. It’s a perfect place to stargaze and create beautiful moments. Thank you for everything 😉

Nicole Avatar
Nicole
8/18/2020

Beautiful place to watch the Perseids and see the Milky Way!!! As an interior designer I really appreciated the thoughtful and beautiful space inside and out! The scenery at the home is magical and you’ll have a great time!

Kimberly Avatar
Kimberly
8/16/2020

Cool house. Even cooler landscape and surrounding nature!

Brandon Avatar
Brandon
8/14/2020

What a magical place! Carrie has really gone above and beyond to make her place memorable. The little details are so well considered and very much appreciated. Her property is hard to compete with - it has everything you need for a relaxing getaway. Carrie was also such a pleasure to communicate with- thorough and quick to respond. Looking forward to coming back!

Simone Avatar
Simone
8/07/2020

Great weekend getaway. Carrie's place is ideal for taking some time off in the desert. Front and back patios provide outdoor seating for any time of the day with enjoyable views all around. The house is clean and stylish. The bunkhouse is a great spot for a nap or even spend the night in. And Carrie is a great host and very responsive. All around 5 stars 🙂

Antoine Avatar
Antoine
7/26/2020

We had such a magical time at Carrie's home. Every single night we ate out under the stars and listened to the neighborhood coyotes. After dinner we would sit in the hot tub and watch the Neowise comet cross the sky, or sit on the lounge chairs and write and read. We decided to take a working trip out to Joshua Tree and Carrie was incredibly attentive to us, even going as far as to make sure all the internet was running well and working for us, making our trip not only possible but easy. We loved the grill, and the trip into town made for fun outings or date nights. In the mornings we lounged in the hidden rock hammock and took meditate strolls around the property. The best part about Carrie's home was just the pure privacy you felt, so far away and so removed from others you could only see the faint distant glow of headlights. If you're looking for somewhere quiet, romantic, remote, relaxing (with all the modern amenities), or just want to see the milky way, Carrie's home is the right choice!

Jessica Avatar
Jessica
7/24/2020

This is a wonderful home, super clean and comfortable, thoughtfully furnished and decorated. The location is our favorite part - so close to beautiful quiet places to explore, not to mention the property itself. The back patio is beautiful with lots of thoughtful touches, and all of the outdoor amenities very well taken care of.

Timothy Avatar
Timothy
7/17/2020

Excellent house and very relaxing location. Beautiful night sky views!

Gleb Avatar
Gleb
7/10/2020

The stay at Carrie's place was really beautiful. I absolutely love everything about the space--the decor, the small touches like the yoga mats made available, outdoor blankets, and robes! I'd absolutely stay here again.

Amanda Avatar
Amanda
7/05/2020

Black Lava Lodge was the perfect getaway for our family. It was beautiful, clean, and so comfortable. All the little touches were very welcoming and the settings and views were so expansive and freeing.

Susan Avatar
Susan
7/03/2020

Awesome place to get away. Carrie was great, and quick at responding. Will definitely go back. Place was clean, and quiet.

Sergio Avatar
Sergio
6/29/2020

Wonderful, comfortable space, both inside and out. Lots of outdoor activities and seating. Well supplied kitchen and grill set-up. Great location. Isolated with beautiful surroundings but short, easy drive to both town and Joshua Tree Park. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here

Eric Avatar
Eric
6/25/2020

Unforgettable experience. Hope to visit this amazing place again:)

峻杰 Avatar
峻杰
6/21/2020

The best Airbnb experience of my life! Must do.

Joshua Avatar
Joshua
6/18/2020

A must book!! We will be back without hesitation. A wonderful getaway to some peace and quiet. Everything about this property is magical and restorative.

Kara Avatar
Kara
6/10/2020

The attention to detail at Black Lava Lodge made it extra special. The views, the style, the outdoor living spaces - the Joshua Tree vibe is everywhere. Thanks Carrie!

Zane Avatar
Zane
6/06/2020

Carrie's place was amazing! My favorite was stargazing on the Meditation hammock. Truly a one of kind place.

Diana Avatar
Diana
5/25/2020

My stay at Black Lava Lodge was stellar. The house is petite but the property is spacious. The front patio has an amazing view and just across the road is a gorgeous expanse to hike upon, with terrific bouldering opportunities. The back patio has more great views. Throw in the outdoor shower and hot tub and I was almost too relaxed to drive home.

Terence Avatar
Terence
5/23/2020

Great views, great place, awesome layout, host was informative and responsive.

Rondall Avatar
Rondall
3/22/2020

It’s an amazing get away that has all the homey touches you could ever want. So stylish and so much attention to detail! From the cute little mason jar cups to the aromatherapy diffuser in each room (now I need to purchase one for my own home lol) games, laundry access, little dispensers for soap in the showers, bbq, jacuzzi, I can literally keep going and going it was absolutely wonderful. The views were amazing and surreal climbing to the top of the boulder mountain right outside the house, everything was beyond expectations and I look forward to booking again thank you Carrie!

Noemy Avatar
Noemy
3/16/2020

I cannot put into words how amazing Black Lava Lodge is! Truly magical, mystical, and stunning. Every single little thing has been thoughtfully considered by the host. You absolutely must see it for yourself, my husband and I cannot wait to return.

Samantha Avatar
Samantha
3/09/2020

We LOVED Black Lava Lodge! The house was super kool. So stylish and very comfortable. The views were spectacular from every angle - the hot tub was perfect and all the amenities from the great kitchen to the options for dining areas to the great collection of albums!
The bedrooms were clean and comfy.
Carrie was easily responsive.
We would definitely stay there again.

Dorothy Avatar
Dorothy
3/06/2020

If you're looking for a secluded space to unplug, this is it. Great views of the surrounding, very sparsely populated valley. The stars at night are bright and beautiful. Would return!

Nikos Avatar
Nikos
3/01/2020

The Black Lava Lodge was a fantastic place to stay. I've stayed in many Airbnb's out in the JT area and this is easily one of my favorite places. It has everything you could want for a house in the desert. If I were to have my own place there I would have a set up exactly as Carrie has done. I hope to stay there again in the near future.

Kevan Avatar
Kevan
2/23/2020

This place was perfect for a quiet getaway. We got married in LA and wanted a quick 'mini moon' that was quiet, secluded, and beautiful. Carrie's did not disappoint! Our closest neighbors were the many jackrabbits hopping around the fields, and the odd road runner. The sunsets were dramatic and beautiful, and the hot tub (with champagne!) was certainly a highlight. We had an excursion to Pappy and Harriet's but otherwise just lounged around the beautifully designed house. Thanks for a relaxing stay!

Graham Avatar
Graham
2/19/2020

Where to begin. First off, Carrie was especially helpful and responsive to our questions and requests, which is always an important part of a successful Airbnb stay.

The location itself was just as epic as the photos. Total comfort matched with added style and class. If you’re looking to fully unplug and relax in the desert...this is your spot.

Zachary Avatar
Zachary
2/16/2020

The Black Lava Lodge is stylish and well appointed. I found it to have everything my family and I needed and more. We enjoyed the eclectic selection of vinyl records provided by our host.

Jonathan Avatar
Jonathan
2/10/2020

Great place to stay at if you are looking for a quiet semi secluded home. The house is very coney with well thought out amenities. We used the hot tub and the fire pit. It was great waking up to the song of the birds and the view was amazing! Hiked up the mountain behind us and say a whole bunch of wildlife including gates, coyotes, quails, chipmunks and squirrels. Such a relaxing place and about a 40 minute drive to Palm Springs.

Jad Avatar
Jad
2/07/2020

If you value a clean comfortable home with quiet tranquility, stunning sunsets, and a night sky that goes on forever then this is your place. Carrie's home has everything you can ask for in a short term rental. If you come for rest and relaxation, this home has it as you can literally just decompress and absolutely do nothing. We really enjoyed the spa at night under the stars, and cooking in the clean amenity filled kitchen. If you're looking for more of an adventure there are literally activities that are right at your doorstep, including first class hikes, taking a short drive to Pappy and Harriet's to see a show, or even a reasonable drive into the national park and all it offers. We chose a little of both and still came back from our weekend well rested and rejuvenated. Carrie is a first class host who's communication was above and beyond my expectations. You will not regret renting this house and all it offers it's guests. I can't wait to come back and visit once again.

Mark Avatar
Mark
2/02/2020

Black Lava Lodge is the perfect place to unplug. If you like to cook you’re at the right spot. Everything you need is there. There’s ample seating to take in the vastness of the desert plus a hot tub, outdoor shower & viewing bed. There’s enough room for a comfortable 6 plus fine touches like yoga mats, robes and a record player if any of that’s your thing. Thoroughly enjoyed our time at BLL. Carrie (our host) made everything very smooth for our little getaway. Highly recommended. We’ll be back.

Michael Avatar
Michael
1/28/2020

Carrie's home was super well laid out and great for our little getaway -- While we were only two, the home would be perfect for 4-6 people to stay and had a lot of room to hang out(both inside and out). The location was close to Pioneertown but just far enough away to feel like you could enjoy the stars and nature unbothered.

River Avatar
River
1/03/2020

Black Lava Lodge is an awesome house with great amenities, a beautiful kitchen, and fantastic outdoor seating. It was immaculately clean, the beds were so comfortable with high quality linens and pillows, a fabulous place to stay. Its a great place to stay with a big or small group. We loved the property since it was so quiet and we could go on hikes immediately off the property.

Hank Avatar
Hank
1/01/2020

Property was beautiful - views were spectacular. Carrie was a great host and super responsive to any of my questions and enquiries. Would definitely stay again.

Thomas Avatar
Thomas
12/25/2019

The magic of Joshua Tree is complemented by this property. Whatever your reason and whenever you’re visiting this is a great spot to be the airport for your adventures.

James Avatar
James
12/20/2019

We reviewed the many options surrounding Joshua Tree and chose the Black Lava Lodge. The location is fairly remote and offers excellent views. We spent the days in Joshua Tree NP, but we really enjoyed hanging out by the fire pit at sundown and during the night. The lodge had everything we needed to have a comfortable stay. Highly recommended!

Jesse Avatar
Jesse
12/12/2019

We can’t wait to come back. Awesome place !

Vincent Avatar
Vincent
12/08/2019

We had a great time staying at Carrie’s place. We got lucky and we had the rare snowfall. Was quite the scene to enjoy the Joshua tree desert landscape covered in snow. Lovely, professionally run Airbnb.

Ivan Avatar
Ivan
12/01/2019

Absolutely incredible home. The outdoor space is stunning. Outdoor shower, hot tub, fabulous patio, and completely secluded. This is one of my favorite air bnb’s. I cannot wait to stay here again,

Maria Avatar
Maria
11/26/2019

We loved our stay at the lodge!

The home and surrounding area is absolutely beautiful and the outdoor set up is perfect for unwinding.
Our kids especially loved the nearby hiking, outdoor shower and fire pit.

Thanks Carrie for hosting us and we look forward to the next time.

Alan Avatar
Alan
11/25/2019

Couldn't say better things. Carrie was extremely helpful and the house was perfect.

Alec Avatar
Alec
11/18/2019

Amazing place, amazing location. Very clean and great communication

Emmanuel Avatar
Emmanuel
11/11/2019

This property is so unique and so well appointed. The kitchen is excellent for cooking, the bedrooms are spacious and cozy, the outside fire pit, hot tub, and shower were so romantic...just perfect for our group of 3 couples. Thank You Carrie for a perfect stay!

Mike Avatar
Mike
10/20/2019

Wonderful stay at this lovely property! If you are looking for a relaxing place to unwind in Joshua Tree...this is it.

Andrew Avatar
Andrew
10/14/2019

Carrie’s place is beautiful. The interior is very well decorated and it feels very clean. But the best part about it is the outside. It has everting you want, great seating, fire pit, jacuzzi and outdoor dinning area. All to soak in the great views.

Agata Avatar
Agata
10/06/2019

Loved everything about the house! Will definitely go back.

Monique Avatar
Monique
9/30/2019

The Black Lava Lodge was an ideal retreat for my friends and I to celebrate a relaxed birthday weekend. There is so much space outdoors to enjoy the open terrain, it’s perfect for a group getaway. We used about every amenity available, which was so many! Everything I could ask for, and close to Pappy & Harriets where we enjoyed a show. Property is perfectly isolated and private, space was well designed.

Lily Avatar
Lily
9/22/2019

Carrie is a great host and the black lava lounge is a great place to stay, amazing property and clean space. make sure to follow the directions Carrie sends you so you dont get lost!

Jason Avatar
Jason
9/01/2019

This place is a completely remote getaway for anyone trying to escape for a few days. We had the best time and will definitely be returning. Carrie was immediately responsive to any questions we had and we spent our days laying on the shaded hammock and our evenings by the fire pit. What’s not to love about that? Thank you again for being such a wonderful host, Carrie!

Emma Avatar
Emma
8/11/2019

Black Lava Lodge is fantastic. The location is convenient to both Joshua Tree and Pioneertown, yet secluded enough that you can enjoy the peace of the desert and beauty of the night sky. The space itself is great with ample room both inside and outside and stunning views in each direction. Carrie is a fantastic host and incredibly responsive. Would highly recommend staying here to anyone looking to get away to the desert for a few days!

Nick Avatar
Nick
8/07/2019

Nice home, perfectly maintained, beautiful natural desert site with great outdoor amenities.

Tyler Avatar
Tyler
8/04/2019

Carrie was extremely communicative and accommodating. The backyard is wonderful!

Michelle Avatar
Michelle
7/25/2019

Absolutely amazing. Located off the map (which was perfect). An incredible escape.

Ended up spending far more time at the house than we planned simply because of how amazing it was!

Brent Avatar
Brent
7/18/2019

Carrie’s home is truly an oasis. Not only are the amenities extremely thoughtful, but the house itself sits amongst 360 degree views of Yucca Valley’s finest rock formations and mountain scapes. I found myself sitting at different spots in the house throughout the day taking in the scenery and each spot felt different, new and unique. That’s incredibly hard to achieve and is a testament to the home’s great design, comfortable decor and thoughtful hosts.

Some of my personal highlights:
Bedding... wow, SO comfy.
Hot Tub... it’s brand new!! So clean and incredible views of the night sky.
Air conditioning... works fast and keeps you feeling cool on a hot day.
The scenery... I rarely feel as inspired as I did at the Black Lava Lounge.
Safety... the neighbors are far enough away to feel secluded but close enough to feel a sense of safety and community. I always felt comfortable and at peace at all times of the night or day.

Overall, it was an amazing stay. Carrie is an incredible host and I cannot suggest this place more to anyone looking for a desert getaway!

Michael Avatar
Michael
7/11/2019

The lodge was a great place to hang out while visiting the Joshua Tree area for a few days! The home is in a great location, the space was comfortable for our party of four, and the hot tub was an added bonus. Definitely recommended!

Jeff Avatar
Jeff
5/31/2019

Postcard perfect views. Amazing outdoor amenities - spent most of my time stargazing from the jacuzzi. Conveniently located to everything! One of my best experiences on Airbnb.

Angela Avatar
Angela
5/28/2019

Beautiful home in a beautiful location. Everything about the space was inviting and designed for relaxation and comfort. We will be back for sure.

Kimberly Avatar
Kimberly
5/26/2019

The location of this house is stunning and it has such great outdoor space.

Jade Avatar
Jade
4/21/2019

Quaint little home situated on a beautiful property with amazing views! Elizabeth was super helpful and quick to respond.

Carrie Avatar
Carrie
4/18/2019

Elizabeth is very organized and has great communciation. Her house is gorgeous and you should look no further and book her house, you won’t be sorry - you’ll be delighted !

Gretchen Avatar
Gretchen
4/04/2019

The location is amazing. The area is really beautiful and there is great hiking right near by. The house itself is very comfortable and a very nice space to hang out in.

Sam Avatar
Sam
3/31/2019

We had a wonderful time! We loved the location of Rock Lava Lodge and the big boulder hill was fun to hike and made for beautiful views from the big living room window that frames the mountain. We look forward to going back again.

Laurie Avatar
Laurie
3/27/2019

Elizabeth was a great host! The original air bnb we rented was cancelled the day we are scheduled to check in due to the pipes being frozen from the unexpected snow. Air BmB helped us find Elizabeth’s place but as we were a few hours away Elizabeth found out that the road to the house was quite muddy and felt that it might not be best for our cars to drive through it. She did offer her other house on Shaffer St and promised that it was nicer if not better since it is newly renovated. She was spot on and the new place was a lot better and bigger and furnishings were all new. And super clean!
She really helped us get settled and relaxed which is badly needed for my son’s wedding at Joshua Tree National Park and reception at Pioneertown which was very close to the house.

I cannot thank her enough for her help and hospitality.

Laura from the Air BnB also helped us so much and got into action the minute our original house was cancelled.

Gina Avatar
Gina
2/24/2019

Black Lava Lodge was the perfect home to celebrate my birthday. I wanted to stay somewhere that I could enjoy the outdoors but also somewhere that I could be comfortable and warm during a winter desert trip. Elizabeth’s home provides all of that. The house is beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable, private, and fun. The hosts are also very responsive and helpful. I miss black lava lodge already!

Ashley Avatar
Ashley
2/18/2019

Clean, quiet, serene, beautiful, modern, stylish and comfortable! We loved staying at Black Lava Lodge and will hopefully be back again soon.

Ward Avatar
Ward
2/12/2019

This Airbnb was immaculate. The house was spotless and the amenities were great and I also loved the layout of the home. I always have issues with most beds at Airbnb‘s but her beds were so comfortable none of us could complain. thank you again for letting us stay at your space. I am definitely coming back!

Ann Avatar
Ann
1/21/2019

Sparkling clean, stylish place in Pioneertown. Very convenient to nearby Joshua Tree National Park and Palm Springs for day trips. World’s most comfortable beds and linens ever! Spectacular views and very peaceful. The hot tub at night is a must!

Lisa Avatar
Lisa
1/04/2019

Outstanding space, outstanding attentive hosts, outstanding experience.

It was just what my friends and I were looking for and we had a blast. Note that the room that is detached from the house has a great heater in it. So, have no fear of cold if booking in the winter. Our average high was 51 degrees F and 31 degrees F at night. The hosts are lighting fast with support as well.

Michael Avatar
Michael
1/01/2019

Highly recommend the Black Lava Lodge. Great setting.
Beautiful views, easy access to hikes and some great local food.

Lisa Avatar
Lisa
12/30/2018

The house itself is serene and the views are amazing. If you are driving in at night it will be pretty frustrating, because there are no lights for the street sign or house number. (their solar lights were not functioning). There were only 2 wine glasses, or any glasses for that matter. We paid a premium for Thanksgiving, and for what we paid this was certainly not worth it. The house was very clean, and had the bare minimum. Great place to relax, but not to our standards.

Patricia Avatar
Patricia
11/24/2018

This was our second trip to Black Lava Lodge, so we obviously enjoy the place. It is clean and feels very private. We appreciate the multiple sitting/lounging areas-- fire pit, hot tub, chairs and tables outside, as well as indoor seating. Being away from a city makes it nice for stargazing on a clear night. Easy to get to Joshua Tree park.

Lisa Avatar
Lisa
11/12/2018

My first air b n b experience and wow was I surprised. Everything I needed from a great cup of coffee, to hot tub towels and games. My family went up to spend the weekend to go to our cousins destination wedding. Gorgeous views, amazing trails, the outside set up was fabulous. Plenty of areas to sit, fire pit, hot tub and even an outside shower. I had to use it all and the views off the back of the house were surreal. I definitely recommend Black Lava. I didn’t leave the house for days and I never got bored! A must!!!!

Stacey Avatar
Stacey
10/29/2018

This is the perfect place if you love to be outdoors but still want the comfort of a home. Lots of outdoor seating, the BBQ, hot tub and outdoor shower were my favorite things about the place. They also provided a lot of extra blankets and towels to use outside. Just a short walk from the house there are some cool rocks to climb. At night the stars are incredible!

Monica Avatar
Monica
9/30/2018

Beautiful place. Best enjoyed in cooler temps.

Andy Avatar
Andy
8/30/2018

Mostly Awesome! The place is beautiful and well appointed. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in and the bedding was so nice my girlfriend started shopping for herself as soon we got home. The hosts were very responsive and accommodating.

The only challenge we had was with the swamp cooler. I should have paid closer attention to the listing and realized there wasn't AC. The house was in the 90's inside when we checked in and we couldn't get the swamp cooler to work properly. The hosts suggested we open the doors and windows and use some fans which worked really well and the place immediately cooled down. The only problem was that at night the back patio flood lights were flickering so we couldn't keep the sliders open, it was too bright and distracting. This was a problem for the people using the bunk house too.

That being said, as responsive as the hosts are I'm sure these items will be addressed asap and probably never be an issue for you.

Oh...and heads up on the road. There are a few places where the ruts are more than a little bumpy and it takes some maneuvering. Most cars should be fine but if you have really low ground clearance you could have some trouble.

Scott Avatar
Scott
8/25/2018

This house was one of (if not the best) home we’ve rented yet on Airbnb. The stylish home sits on a stunning property, surrounded by Aw inspiring vistas. The house is immaculate and has everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay. The beds are extremely comfortable, and the outdoor shower and hot tub are the final touches on an already perfect house. 5 stars and will definitely be returning.

Alex Avatar
Alex
6/24/2018

We had a very lovely stay in this stylish desert home. Very clean, cosy and private and close to Pioneertown. Hope to return soon!

Elle Avatar
Elle
5/13/2018

Spectacular views, location, comfort, amenities. I can't possibly say enough good things about Black Lava Lounge so I'm not going to try.

Seriously, I'm not sure how much better a desert experience could be. Such a lovely property and great location.

Phil Avatar
Phil
5/09/2018

It was such a beautiful place to stay for my sons wedding. Was very happy with the way everything turned out. I loved how clean it was and how chic the house was. I also loved all the special touches they added, including the patio, jacuzzi, and outdoor space. Would definitely stay here again.

Maria Avatar
Maria
5/06/2018

Stunning views, tranquil setting, thoughtfully designed, very clean, and super quick response time to questions. Highly recommended!

Shellie Avatar
Shellie
5/01/2018

Coming from Los Angeles we were looking for a quiet, comfortable, secluded space, and Black Lava Lodge certainly didn’t disappoint. We had a wonderful time enjoying the surroundings. Choosing to sit in front with the amazing view of the mountain, or sitting in the backyard enjoying the landscape - either way we felt far away from the busyness of life.

The quiet was nurturing, just the sound of the wind and birds. I stayed in the outside bunkhouse space and left the upper doors open at night to see the stars. I loved it.

You can see Brads personal touch throughout the entire property. The bedrooms had all the amenities a guest needs, as well as the kitchen. I especially enjoyed the outdoor shower, nothing like taking a shower under the stars at night after a great jacuzzi. And we loved the fire pit.

The space was also secluded enough that we felt detached from our usual busy lives, but close enough to town which we traveled to once to pick up some meat for the BBQ.

I could say so much more, but one thing for sure is that we will be coming back to Black Lava Lodge again.

Carlos Avatar
Carlos
4/21/2018

amazing location, pristine house, breathless sightseeing: everything is perfect, it is gem.

Alexandra Avatar
Alexandra
4/17/2018

I highly recommend BLL. It is the perfect place for a quiet romantic getaway, which is what my boyfriend and I were looking for. The house was just perfect for us with its outdoor shower, hot tub, and amazing scenery and tons of hiking nearby. Brad was very fast when I had any questions. I want to go back now!

Staci Avatar
Staci
4/15/2018

Beautiful desert chic cabin with spa like amenities. I never wanted to leave! The outdoor furniture and spa are a nice touch. Brad had great communication and his directions got us to the cabin even at night with little light and no GPS.

David Avatar
David
4/08/2018

Brad was a great host and replied quickly to my questions, he took care of everything very promptly. The house was great for a girls weekend- all the beds were super comfortable and there is plenty of indoor and outdoor space. We were able to bring our dog who loved it too! Would highly recommend going to Pappy and Harriet’s!

Kate Avatar
Kate
4/01/2018

Black Lava Lodge was a great, secluded place to stay in good proximity to Joshua Tree. There was also a really fun hike right by the property that we basically had to ourselves!

Shannon Avatar
Shannon
3/29/2018