Customer Reviews

The space is a perfect getaway from LA! The outdoor areas are perfect for watching the sunset over the desert landscape. Carrie was super responsive and made the process very easy. Lots of guides and signage to answer all your questions during the stay. It is definitely off the beaten path and down a dirt road so had to be home before sundown! Definitely recommend and will stay again.

Arielle Avatar
Arielle
1/05/2021

Great

Ohad Avatar
Ohad
1/01/2021

This is an excellent Airbnb. The house has really nice amenities (fireplace, spa, meditation cube!) and a beautiful location with views out every window. From soft spa robes to Mexican blankets to Le Crueset cookware, everything is tastefully thought out. And the Sand to Snow preserve across the street means you can hike the desert without ever leaving.

Alexandra Avatar
Alexandra
12/29/2020

A patch of heaven in the desert. Do the hike about a mile down the road, incredible! beautiful house, serene and loads of thoughtful touches. A+

Jason Avatar
Jason
12/24/2020

LOVED our time here. Perfect getaway with unbelievable views. Would love to make it a yearly retreat!

Matthew Avatar
Matthew
12/21/2020

After months of cancelled travel and staying at home, Black Lava Lodge was just what we needed. A place that felt like home, but also felt like an oasis in the wilderness that has been 2020. We cooked all our meals here in the small but complete kitchen, lounged by the indoor fireplace morning and evening, enjoyed the hot tub and fire pit, took several walks, hikes, scrambles up rocks right out the front door. The desert in the Joshua Tree area never fails to inspire and heal; the awe inspiring rock formations, Suess-like plant life and incredible star at night. Highly recommend if you really want get away from it all.

Vanessa Avatar
Vanessa
12/17/2020

Carrie’s place, The Black Lava Lodge, is hands down the best Airbnb we have ever stayed in. Beautiful, stylish house. Amazing outdoor spaces. The location, view and property are what really set it apart. We loved the jacuzzi at night looking at the stars. Loved the record player and fully stocked kitchen for cooking. Also best knives I have ever used at an Airbnb.

Daniel Avatar
Daniel
12/06/2020

Carrie is an exceptional host, fast to respond, thoughtful, detail oriented - we loved staying in Carrie's beautiful home and loved all of the details and thought.

Kate Avatar
Kate
11/27/2020

A great, quiet, beautiful home for a serene, isolated experience.

We had such a wonderful time at Black Lava. The home had all the amenities we needed, both inside and out, to make our experience one of a kind.

Carrie was very responsive to our needs and made our trip very enjoyable.

We will definitely be staying at this property again and highly recommend it if you want a place to stay near Joshua Tree.

Dusty Avatar
Dusty
11/13/2020

The Airbnb was amazing. Great amenities and views. Additionally, Carrie was very responsive in helping us during technical difficulties on our first night, with the rest of the trip being better than expected.

Shane Avatar
Shane
11/08/2020

I was looking for a great place to escape and enjoy some quiet and serenity. This home was ideal for that! Great host! Very cool home.

James Avatar
James
11/05/2020

Incredible location, and Carrie was SUPER responsive when we needed to communicate. Amazing place, highly recommend!

Ashwin Avatar
Ashwin
11/02/2020

The location of the home is nuts beautiful! And was incredibly well appointed with everything you’d want in a getaway home.

Sally Avatar
Sally
10/27/2020

Lovely well-appointed place with great dessert views and excellent outdoor space. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Wendy Avatar
Wendy
10/23/2020

Black Lava Lodge will NOT disappoint you! Everything is placed perfectly in the house and all over the property! Very secluded from other properties in the area. This was a mini honeymoon for us and we enjoyed every second! Thanks Carrie!!

Also, follow the directions she provided (Curtis Road is not a road that will get you to BLL; from experience)! =)

Trevor Avatar
Trevor
10/12/2020

Great spot, incredibly quiet, thoughtful touches throughout!

Cisca Avatar
Cisca
9/28/2020

Our stay was flawless. Carrie was very attentive and promptly replied to any questions we had with the property. The property itself was huge and offered awesome views of the valley. Perfect for star gazing and just letting nature sink in. The house itself was perfectly appointed. Everything was perfectly laid out and clean. Living area was spacious and comfy and the back yard was really fun to hang out in. Would definitely book again.

Dennis Avatar
Dennis
9/26/2020

The lodge is a beautifully thought out design. You can feel the insight and care that has gone into the creation of this place.

With the wide valley and Sawtooth Mountains below and the boulder rock cliffs behind,
It's a perfectly situated setting to experience the beauty of this desert area.

Everything is thoughtfully set up for a low impact, healthy chem free, relaxing, fun experience.

I was there during the hotter temp times and really appreciated the solid AC during the day.

The Outdoor shower, the HotTub without Chlorine are the bomb, it just takes a lil care in how you use it...and w/ a new moon, the star gazing was fantastic.

Carrie has been a fantastic host, timely responsive, clear, and available if needed.

She was also flexible when I had to make a quick change of dates. I appreciated how much I felt supported in creating this trip.

Definitely pay attention to all direction instructions. (Hidden by Airbnb) maps or such might lead you astray!

Thanks for such a sweet little respite, a way to see my local fam, and will def be back in the future!

Marisa Avatar
Marisa
9/18/2020

Truly gorgeous 360 degree location and peaceful, clean home. Extremely helpful and prompt communications!

Chelsea Avatar
Chelsea
9/15/2020

Lovely retreat, stylish & cozy. Very well stocked kitchen if you like to cook. Property is private & remote but convenient to Pioneertown and the national park.

Chenoa Avatar
Chenoa
9/01/2020

We absolutely loved our stay! The house is gorgeous, clean and spacious. It’s a perfect place to stargaze and create beautiful moments. Thank you for everything 😉

Nicole Avatar
Nicole
8/18/2020

Beautiful place to watch the Perseids and see the Milky Way!!! As an interior designer I really appreciated the thoughtful and beautiful space inside and out! The scenery at the home is magical and you’ll have a great time!

Kimberly Avatar
Kimberly
8/16/2020

Cool house. Even cooler landscape and surrounding nature!

Brandon Avatar
Brandon
8/14/2020

What a magical place! Carrie has really gone above and beyond to make her place memorable. The little details are so well considered and very much appreciated. Her property is hard to compete with - it has everything you need for a relaxing getaway. Carrie was also such a pleasure to communicate with- thorough and quick to respond. Looking forward to coming back!

Simone Avatar
Simone
8/07/2020

Great weekend getaway. Carrie's place is ideal for taking some time off in the desert. Front and back patios provide outdoor seating for any time of the day with enjoyable views all around. The house is clean and stylish. The bunkhouse is a great spot for a nap or even spend the night in. And Carrie is a great host and very responsive. All around 5 stars 🙂

Antoine Avatar
Antoine
7/26/2020

We had such a magical time at Carrie's home. Every single night we ate out under the stars and listened to the neighborhood coyotes. After dinner we would sit in the hot tub and watch the Neowise comet cross the sky, or sit on the lounge chairs and write and read. We decided to take a working trip out to Joshua Tree and Carrie was incredibly attentive to us, even going as far as to make sure all the internet was running well and working for us, making our trip not only possible but easy. We loved the grill, and the trip into town made for fun outings or date nights. In the mornings we lounged in the hidden rock hammock and took meditate strolls around the property. The best part about Carrie's home was just the pure privacy you felt, so far away and so removed from others you could only see the faint distant glow of headlights. If you're looking for somewhere quiet, romantic, remote, relaxing (with all the modern amenities), or just want to see the milky way, Carrie's home is the right choice!

Jessica Avatar
Jessica
7/24/2020

This is a wonderful home, super clean and comfortable, thoughtfully furnished and decorated. The location is our favorite part - so close to beautiful quiet places to explore, not to mention the property itself. The back patio is beautiful with lots of thoughtful touches, and all of the outdoor amenities very well taken care of.

Timothy Avatar
Timothy
7/17/2020

Excellent house and very relaxing location. Beautiful night sky views!

Gleb Avatar
Gleb
7/10/2020

The stay at Carrie's place was really beautiful. I absolutely love everything about the space--the decor, the small touches like the yoga mats made available, outdoor blankets, and robes! I'd absolutely stay here again.

Amanda Avatar
Amanda
7/05/2020

Black Lava Lodge was the perfect getaway for our family. It was beautiful, clean, and so comfortable. All the little touches were very welcoming and the settings and views were so expansive and freeing.

Susan Avatar
Susan
7/03/2020

Awesome place to get away. Carrie was great, and quick at responding. Will definitely go back. Place was clean, and quiet.

Sergio Avatar
Sergio
6/29/2020

Wonderful, comfortable space, both inside and out. Lots of outdoor activities and seating. Well supplied kitchen and grill set-up. Great location. Isolated with beautiful surroundings but short, easy drive to both town and Joshua Tree Park. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here

Eric Avatar
Eric
6/25/2020

Unforgettable experience. Hope to visit this amazing place again:)

峻杰 Avatar
峻杰
6/21/2020

The best Airbnb experience of my life! Must do.

Joshua Avatar
Joshua
6/18/2020

A must book!! We will be back without hesitation. A wonderful getaway to some peace and quiet. Everything about this property is magical and restorative.

Kara Avatar
Kara
6/10/2020

The attention to detail at Black Lava Lodge made it extra special. The views, the style, the outdoor living spaces - the Joshua Tree vibe is everywhere. Thanks Carrie!

Zane Avatar
Zane
6/06/2020

Carrie's place was amazing! My favorite was stargazing on the Meditation hammock. Truly a one of kind place.

Diana Avatar
Diana
5/25/2020

My stay at Black Lava Lodge was stellar. The house is petite but the property is spacious. The front patio has an amazing view and just across the road is a gorgeous expanse to hike upon, with terrific bouldering opportunities. The back patio has more great views. Throw in the outdoor shower and hot tub and I was almost too relaxed to drive home.

Terence Avatar
Terence
5/23/2020

Great views, great place, awesome layout, host was informative and responsive.

Rondall Avatar
Rondall
3/22/2020

It’s an amazing get away that has all the homey touches you could ever want. So stylish and so much attention to detail! From the cute little mason jar cups to the aromatherapy diffuser in each room (now I need to purchase one for my own home lol) games, laundry access, little dispensers for soap in the showers, bbq, jacuzzi, I can literally keep going and going it was absolutely wonderful. The views were amazing and surreal climbing to the top of the boulder mountain right outside the house, everything was beyond expectations and I look forward to booking again thank you Carrie!

Noemy Avatar
Noemy
3/16/2020

I cannot put into words how amazing Black Lava Lodge is! Truly magical, mystical, and stunning. Every single little thing has been thoughtfully considered by the host. You absolutely must see it for yourself, my husband and I cannot wait to return.

Samantha Avatar
Samantha
3/09/2020

We LOVED Black Lava Lodge! The house was super kool. So stylish and very comfortable. The views were spectacular from every angle - the hot tub was perfect and all the amenities from the great kitchen to the options for dining areas to the great collection of albums!
The bedrooms were clean and comfy.
Carrie was easily responsive.
We would definitely stay there again.

Dorothy Avatar
Dorothy
3/06/2020

If you're looking for a secluded space to unplug, this is it. Great views of the surrounding, very sparsely populated valley. The stars at night are bright and beautiful. Would return!

Nikos Avatar
Nikos
3/01/2020

The Black Lava Lodge was a fantastic place to stay. I've stayed in many Airbnb's out in the JT area and this is easily one of my favorite places. It has everything you could want for a house in the desert. If I were to have my own place there I would have a set up exactly as Carrie has done. I hope to stay there again in the near future.

Kevan Avatar
Kevan
2/23/2020

This place was perfect for a quiet getaway. We got married in LA and wanted a quick 'mini moon' that was quiet, secluded, and beautiful. Carrie's did not disappoint! Our closest neighbors were the many jackrabbits hopping around the fields, and the odd road runner. The sunsets were dramatic and beautiful, and the hot tub (with champagne!) was certainly a highlight. We had an excursion to Pappy and Harriet's but otherwise just lounged around the beautifully designed house. Thanks for a relaxing stay!

Graham Avatar
Graham
2/19/2020

Where to begin. First off, Carrie was especially helpful and responsive to our questions and requests, which is always an important part of a successful Airbnb stay.

The location itself was just as epic as the photos. Total comfort matched with added style and class. If you’re looking to fully unplug and relax in the desert...this is your spot.

Zachary Avatar
Zachary
2/16/2020

The Black Lava Lodge is stylish and well appointed. I found it to have everything my family and I needed and more. We enjoyed the eclectic selection of vinyl records provided by our host.

Jonathan Avatar
Jonathan
2/10/2020

Great place to stay at if you are looking for a quiet semi secluded home. The house is very coney with well thought out amenities. We used the hot tub and the fire pit. It was great waking up to the song of the birds and the view was amazing! Hiked up the mountain behind us and say a whole bunch of wildlife including gates, coyotes, quails, chipmunks and squirrels. Such a relaxing place and about a 40 minute drive to Palm Springs.

Jad Avatar
Jad
2/07/2020

If you value a clean comfortable home with quiet tranquility, stunning sunsets, and a night sky that goes on forever then this is your place. Carrie's home has everything you can ask for in a short term rental. If you come for rest and relaxation, this home has it as you can literally just decompress and absolutely do nothing. We really enjoyed the spa at night under the stars, and cooking in the clean amenity filled kitchen. If you're looking for more of an adventure there are literally activities that are right at your doorstep, including first class hikes, taking a short drive to Pappy and Harriet's to see a show, or even a reasonable drive into the national park and all it offers. We chose a little of both and still came back from our weekend well rested and rejuvenated. Carrie is a first class host who's communication was above and beyond my expectations. You will not regret renting this house and all it offers it's guests. I can't wait to come back and visit once again.

Mark Avatar
Mark
2/02/2020

Black Lava Lodge is the perfect place to unplug. If you like to cook you’re at the right spot. Everything you need is there. There’s ample seating to take in the vastness of the desert plus a hot tub, outdoor shower & viewing bed. There’s enough room for a comfortable 6 plus fine touches like yoga mats, robes and a record player if any of that’s your thing. Thoroughly enjoyed our time at BLL. Carrie (our host) made everything very smooth for our little getaway. Highly recommended. We’ll be back.

Michael Avatar
Michael
1/28/2020

Carrie's home was super well laid out and great for our little getaway -- While we were only two, the home would be perfect for 4-6 people to stay and had a lot of room to hang out(both inside and out). The location was close to Pioneertown but just far enough away to feel like you could enjoy the stars and nature unbothered.

River Avatar
River
1/03/2020

Black Lava Lodge is an awesome house with great amenities, a beautiful kitchen, and fantastic outdoor seating. It was immaculately clean, the beds were so comfortable with high quality linens and pillows, a fabulous place to stay. Its a great place to stay with a big or small group. We loved the property since it was so quiet and we could go on hikes immediately off the property.

Hank Avatar
Hank
1/01/2020

Property was beautiful - views were spectacular. Carrie was a great host and super responsive to any of my questions and enquiries. Would definitely stay again.

Thomas Avatar
Thomas
12/25/2019

The magic of Joshua Tree is complemented by this property. Whatever your reason and whenever you’re visiting this is a great spot to be the airport for your adventures.

James Avatar
James
12/20/2019

We reviewed the many options surrounding Joshua Tree and chose the Black Lava Lodge. The location is fairly remote and offers excellent views. We spent the days in Joshua Tree NP, but we really enjoyed hanging out by the fire pit at sundown and during the night. The lodge had everything we needed to have a comfortable stay. Highly recommended!

Jesse Avatar
Jesse
12/12/2019

We can’t wait to come back. Awesome place !

Vincent Avatar
Vincent
12/08/2019

We had a great time staying at Carrie’s place. We got lucky and we had the rare snowfall. Was quite the scene to enjoy the Joshua tree desert landscape covered in snow. Lovely, professionally run Airbnb.

Ivan Avatar
Ivan
12/01/2019

Absolutely incredible home. The outdoor space is stunning. Outdoor shower, hot tub, fabulous patio, and completely secluded. This is one of my favorite air bnb’s. I cannot wait to stay here again,

Maria Avatar
Maria
11/26/2019

We loved our stay at the lodge!

The home and surrounding area is absolutely beautiful and the outdoor set up is perfect for unwinding.
Our kids especially loved the nearby hiking, outdoor shower and fire pit.

Thanks Carrie for hosting us and we look forward to the next time.

Alan Avatar
Alan
11/25/2019

Couldn't say better things. Carrie was extremely helpful and the house was perfect.

Alec Avatar
Alec
11/18/2019

Amazing place, amazing location. Very clean and great communication

Emmanuel Avatar
Emmanuel
11/11/2019

This property is so unique and so well appointed. The kitchen is excellent for cooking, the bedrooms are spacious and cozy, the outside fire pit, hot tub, and shower were so romantic...just perfect for our group of 3 couples. Thank You Carrie for a perfect stay!

Mike Avatar
Mike
10/20/2019

Wonderful stay at this lovely property! If you are looking for a relaxing place to unwind in Joshua Tree...this is it.

Andrew Avatar
Andrew
10/14/2019

Carrie’s place is beautiful. The interior is very well decorated and it feels very clean. But the best part about it is the outside. It has everting you want, great seating, fire pit, jacuzzi and outdoor dinning area. All to soak in the great views.

Agata Avatar
Agata
10/06/2019

Loved everything about the house! Will definitely go back.

Monique Avatar
Monique
9/30/2019

The Black Lava Lodge was an ideal retreat for my friends and I to celebrate a relaxed birthday weekend. There is so much space outdoors to enjoy the open terrain, it’s perfect for a group getaway. We used about every amenity available, which was so many! Everything I could ask for, and close to Pappy & Harriets where we enjoyed a show. Property is perfectly isolated and private, space was well designed.

Lily Avatar
Lily
9/22/2019

Carrie is a great host and the black lava lounge is a great place to stay, amazing property and clean space. make sure to follow the directions Carrie sends you so you dont get lost!

Jason Avatar
Jason
9/01/2019

This place is a completely remote getaway for anyone trying to escape for a few days. We had the best time and will definitely be returning. Carrie was immediately responsive to any questions we had and we spent our days laying on the shaded hammock and our evenings by the fire pit. What’s not to love about that? Thank you again for being such a wonderful host, Carrie!

Emma Avatar
Emma
8/11/2019

Black Lava Lodge is fantastic. The location is convenient to both Joshua Tree and Pioneertown, yet secluded enough that you can enjoy the peace of the desert and beauty of the night sky. The space itself is great with ample room both inside and outside and stunning views in each direction. Carrie is a fantastic host and incredibly responsive. Would highly recommend staying here to anyone looking to get away to the desert for a few days!

Nick Avatar
Nick
8/07/2019

Nice home, perfectly maintained, beautiful natural desert site with great outdoor amenities.

Tyler Avatar
Tyler
8/04/2019

Carrie was extremely communicative and accommodating. The backyard is wonderful!

Michelle Avatar
Michelle
7/25/2019

Absolutely amazing. Located off the map (which was perfect). An incredible escape.

Ended up spending far more time at the house than we planned simply because of how amazing it was!

Brent Avatar
Brent
7/18/2019

Carrie’s home is truly an oasis. Not only are the amenities extremely thoughtful, but the house itself sits amongst 360 degree views of Yucca Valley’s finest rock formations and mountain scapes. I found myself sitting at different spots in the house throughout the day taking in the scenery and each spot felt different, new and unique. That’s incredibly hard to achieve and is a testament to the home’s great design, comfortable decor and thoughtful hosts.

Some of my personal highlights:
Bedding... wow, SO comfy.
Hot Tub... it’s brand new!! So clean and incredible views of the night sky.
Air conditioning... works fast and keeps you feeling cool on a hot day.
The scenery... I rarely feel as inspired as I did at the Black Lava Lounge.
Safety... the neighbors are far enough away to feel secluded but close enough to feel a sense of safety and community. I always felt comfortable and at peace at all times of the night or day.

Overall, it was an amazing stay. Carrie is an incredible host and I cannot suggest this place more to anyone looking for a desert getaway!

Michael Avatar
Michael
7/11/2019

The lodge was a great place to hang out while visiting the Joshua Tree area for a few days! The home is in a great location, the space was comfortable for our party of four, and the hot tub was an added bonus. Definitely recommended!

Jeff Avatar
Jeff
5/31/2019

Postcard perfect views. Amazing outdoor amenities - spent most of my time stargazing from the jacuzzi. Conveniently located to everything! One of my best experiences on Airbnb.

Angela Avatar
Angela
5/28/2019

Beautiful home in a beautiful location. Everything about the space was inviting and designed for relaxation and comfort. We will be back for sure.

Kimberly Avatar
Kimberly
5/26/2019

The location of this house is stunning and it has such great outdoor space.

Jade Avatar
Jade
4/21/2019

Quaint little home situated on a beautiful property with amazing views! Elizabeth was super helpful and quick to respond.

Carrie Avatar
Carrie
4/18/2019

Elizabeth is very organized and has great communciation. Her house is gorgeous and you should look no further and book her house, you won’t be sorry - you’ll be delighted !

Gretchen Avatar
Gretchen
4/04/2019

The location is amazing. The area is really beautiful and there is great hiking right near by. The house itself is very comfortable and a very nice space to hang out in.

Sam Avatar
Sam
3/31/2019

We had a wonderful time! We loved the location of Rock Lava Lodge and the big boulder hill was fun to hike and made for beautiful views from the big living room window that frames the mountain. We look forward to going back again.

Laurie Avatar
Laurie
3/27/2019

Elizabeth was a great host! The original air bnb we rented was cancelled the day we are scheduled to check in due to the pipes being frozen from the unexpected snow. Air BmB helped us find Elizabeth’s place but as we were a few hours away Elizabeth found out that the road to the house was quite muddy and felt that it might not be best for our cars to drive through it. She did offer her other house on Shaffer St and promised that it was nicer if not better since it is newly renovated. She was spot on and the new place was a lot better and bigger and furnishings were all new. And super clean!
She really helped us get settled and relaxed which is badly needed for my son’s wedding at Joshua Tree National Park and reception at Pioneertown which was very close to the house.

I cannot thank her enough for her help and hospitality.

Laura from the Air BnB also helped us so much and got into action the minute our original house was cancelled.

Gina Avatar
Gina
2/24/2019

Black Lava Lodge was the perfect home to celebrate my birthday. I wanted to stay somewhere that I could enjoy the outdoors but also somewhere that I could be comfortable and warm during a winter desert trip. Elizabeth’s home provides all of that. The house is beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable, private, and fun. The hosts are also very responsive and helpful. I miss black lava lodge already!

Ashley Avatar
Ashley
2/18/2019

Clean, quiet, serene, beautiful, modern, stylish and comfortable! We loved staying at Black Lava Lodge and will hopefully be back again soon.

Ward Avatar
Ward
2/12/2019

This Airbnb was immaculate. The house was spotless and the amenities were great and I also loved the layout of the home. I always have issues with most beds at Airbnb‘s but her beds were so comfortable none of us could complain. thank you again for letting us stay at your space. I am definitely coming back!

Ann Avatar
Ann
1/21/2019

Sparkling clean, stylish place in Pioneertown. Very convenient to nearby Joshua Tree National Park and Palm Springs for day trips. World’s most comfortable beds and linens ever! Spectacular views and very peaceful. The hot tub at night is a must!

Lisa Avatar
Lisa
1/04/2019

Outstanding space, outstanding attentive hosts, outstanding experience.

It was just what my friends and I were looking for and we had a blast. Note that the room that is detached from the house has a great heater in it. So, have no fear of cold if booking in the winter. Our average high was 51 degrees F and 31 degrees F at night. The hosts are lighting fast with support as well.

Michael Avatar
Michael
1/01/2019

Highly recommend the Black Lava Lodge. Great setting.
Beautiful views, easy access to hikes and some great local food.

Lisa Avatar
Lisa
12/30/2018

The house itself is serene and the views are amazing. If you are driving in at night it will be pretty frustrating, because there are no lights for the street sign or house number. (their solar lights were not functioning). There were only 2 wine glasses, or any glasses for that matter. We paid a premium for Thanksgiving, and for what we paid this was certainly not worth it. The house was very clean, and had the bare minimum. Great place to relax, but not to our standards.

Patricia Avatar
Patricia
11/24/2018

This was our second trip to Black Lava Lodge, so we obviously enjoy the place. It is clean and feels very private. We appreciate the multiple sitting/lounging areas-- fire pit, hot tub, chairs and tables outside, as well as indoor seating. Being away from a city makes it nice for stargazing on a clear night. Easy to get to Joshua Tree park.

Lisa Avatar
Lisa
11/12/2018

My first air b n b experience and wow was I surprised. Everything I needed from a great cup of coffee, to hot tub towels and games. My family went up to spend the weekend to go to our cousins destination wedding. Gorgeous views, amazing trails, the outside set up was fabulous. Plenty of areas to sit, fire pit, hot tub and even an outside shower. I had to use it all and the views off the back of the house were surreal. I definitely recommend Black Lava. I didn’t leave the house for days and I never got bored! A must!!!!

Stacey Avatar
Stacey
10/29/2018

This is the perfect place if you love to be outdoors but still want the comfort of a home. Lots of outdoor seating, the BBQ, hot tub and outdoor shower were my favorite things about the place. They also provided a lot of extra blankets and towels to use outside. Just a short walk from the house there are some cool rocks to climb. At night the stars are incredible!

Monica Avatar
Monica
9/30/2018

Beautiful place. Best enjoyed in cooler temps.

Andy Avatar
Andy
8/30/2018

Mostly Awesome! The place is beautiful and well appointed. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in and the bedding was so nice my girlfriend started shopping for herself as soon we got home. The hosts were very responsive and accommodating.

The only challenge we had was with the swamp cooler. I should have paid closer attention to the listing and realized there wasn't AC. The house was in the 90's inside when we checked in and we couldn't get the swamp cooler to work properly. The hosts suggested we open the doors and windows and use some fans which worked really well and the place immediately cooled down. The only problem was that at night the back patio flood lights were flickering so we couldn't keep the sliders open, it was too bright and distracting. This was a problem for the people using the bunk house too.

That being said, as responsive as the hosts are I'm sure these items will be addressed asap and probably never be an issue for you.

Oh...and heads up on the road. There are a few places where the ruts are more than a little bumpy and it takes some maneuvering. Most cars should be fine but if you have really low ground clearance you could have some trouble.

Scott Avatar
Scott
8/25/2018

This house was one of (if not the best) home we’ve rented yet on Airbnb. The stylish home sits on a stunning property, surrounded by Aw inspiring vistas. The house is immaculate and has everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay. The beds are extremely comfortable, and the outdoor shower and hot tub are the final touches on an already perfect house. 5 stars and will definitely be returning.

Alex Avatar
Alex
6/24/2018

We had a very lovely stay in this stylish desert home. Very clean, cosy and private and close to Pioneertown. Hope to return soon!

Elle Avatar
Elle
5/13/2018

Spectacular views, location, comfort, amenities. I can't possibly say enough good things about Black Lava Lounge so I'm not going to try.

Seriously, I'm not sure how much better a desert experience could be. Such a lovely property and great location.

Phil Avatar
Phil
5/09/2018

It was such a beautiful place to stay for my sons wedding. Was very happy with the way everything turned out. I loved how clean it was and how chic the house was. I also loved all the special touches they added, including the patio, jacuzzi, and outdoor space. Would definitely stay here again.

Maria Avatar
Maria
5/06/2018

Stunning views, tranquil setting, thoughtfully designed, very clean, and super quick response time to questions. Highly recommended!

Shellie Avatar
Shellie
5/01/2018

Coming from Los Angeles we were looking for a quiet, comfortable, secluded space, and Black Lava Lodge certainly didn’t disappoint. We had a wonderful time enjoying the surroundings. Choosing to sit in front with the amazing view of the mountain, or sitting in the backyard enjoying the landscape - either way we felt far away from the busyness of life.

The quiet was nurturing, just the sound of the wind and birds. I stayed in the outside bunkhouse space and left the upper doors open at night to see the stars. I loved it.

You can see Brads personal touch throughout the entire property. The bedrooms had all the amenities a guest needs, as well as the kitchen. I especially enjoyed the outdoor shower, nothing like taking a shower under the stars at night after a great jacuzzi. And we loved the fire pit.

The space was also secluded enough that we felt detached from our usual busy lives, but close enough to town which we traveled to once to pick up some meat for the BBQ.

I could say so much more, but one thing for sure is that we will be coming back to Black Lava Lodge again.

Carlos Avatar
Carlos
4/21/2018

amazing location, pristine house, breathless sightseeing: everything is perfect, it is gem.

Alexandra Avatar
Alexandra
4/17/2018

I highly recommend BLL. It is the perfect place for a quiet romantic getaway, which is what my boyfriend and I were looking for. The house was just perfect for us with its outdoor shower, hot tub, and amazing scenery and tons of hiking nearby. Brad was very fast when I had any questions. I want to go back now!

Staci Avatar
Staci
4/15/2018

Beautiful desert chic cabin with spa like amenities. I never wanted to leave! The outdoor furniture and spa are a nice touch. Brad had great communication and his directions got us to the cabin even at night with little light and no GPS.

David Avatar
David
4/08/2018

Brad was a great host and replied quickly to my questions, he took care of everything very promptly. The house was great for a girls weekend- all the beds were super comfortable and there is plenty of indoor and outdoor space. We were able to bring our dog who loved it too! Would highly recommend going to Pappy and Harriet’s!

Kate Avatar
Kate
4/01/2018

Black Lava Lodge was a great, secluded place to stay in good proximity to Joshua Tree. There was also a really fun hike right by the property that we basically had to ourselves!

Shannon Avatar
Shannon
3/29/2018

Brad’s place is the perfect getaway from the city. It’s peaceful, secluded and well equipped for indoor and outdoor activities. There is a gorgeous mountain you can climb or just simply enjoy viewing just steps away! We hope to visit again. It was the perfect spot for our little family.

Caroline Avatar
Caroline
3/26/2018

The house is beautiful and filled with all the best amenities needed in a every day house. It’s literally in the middle of no where, so you get the best privacy. There are other houses, but nothing too close to ruin your fun. I was glad they had a convenient kitchen filled with all the necessities to cook a meal. They also have a washer and dryer available! The only downside is that I wished there was a tv in the bedroom..

Peggy Avatar
Peggy
3/22/2018

Such a great place! Lots of nice outdoor places to sit and relax!

Michelle Avatar
Michelle
3/15/2018

Incredible location — the Black Lava Lodge is a 15 minute walk from a trailhead into the Sand to Snow National Monument, and the views from all parts of the house are amazing. The Lodge’s bedrooms are super comfortable, cozy and clean, the outdoor living is great! I hope to be back very soon.

Alyssa Avatar
Alyssa
3/08/2018

This place was amazing! Great location, beautifully decorated, insane views all around, amazing jacuzzi, grill and fireplace, insanely comfortable beds, beautiful space. Great communicators. Came out to fix something right when we told them it wasn’t working. Right near the coolest hike I’ve ever done (black lava butte). Can’t wait to come back!

Isabella Avatar
Isabella
3/04/2018

Black Rock Lodge is an absolute desert paradise. The place is extremely modern and laid out extremely well. We loved the open floor plan which each of the main rooms on the opposite side of the kitchen. Outside, the fireplace, the grill and the croquet set was a very nice touch, all of which we used, all were a really nice touch! We highly recommend checking out this desert oasis. It's so peaceful, quiet, serene. You'll definitely have a relaxing stay! We can't wait to go back!

Jeff Avatar
Jeff
3/02/2018

This place is perfect! Loved waking up to the beautiful view. The house was secluded with lots of space to explore. The outside area was truly special with a lovely patio, grill, hot tub, lounge chairs ... we can’t wait to come back.

Johanna Avatar
Johanna
2/25/2018

Excellent property, we loved the space, the location, close to Sand to Snow national monument hiking, and great outdoor property with ideal relaxing setting. Perfect for being close to Joshua Tree but also allows an opportunity to retreat to a really beautiful setting. Everything was very clean, well organized, and Brad was awesome.

thank you!

Scott Avatar
Scott
2/23/2018

The place is remote and beautiful. The communications and help was good even with some challenges of no cell phone coverage in the area. Have rented with Brad before and will continue to do so. The two ensuite bedrooms are very nice the third one outside has some challenges but probably good during spring It was cold there during our stay, (snow) but space heaters were provided and warm blankets. The decor and style is very nice, we have rented once before with Brad and that Shelter property was great.

D.J. Avatar
D.J.
2/20/2018

Beautiful home in a lovely location! We enjoyed a very relaxing girls weekend. Thank you!

Ericka Avatar
Ericka
2/11/2018

Although a bit far from the National Park, the setting of the house is wonderful for those who value privacy, quiet solitude, great views and stars.

Christine Avatar
Christine
2/09/2018

Had a fantastic time. Great communication pre-visit. Had a few small snags that were resolved quickly. House is true to photos with beautiful surroundings. Two main bedrooms (excluding bunk house which we didn’t use) were equivalent which was great for two couples sharing. Well appointed and a very comfortable house. Loved the different seating options outside including fire pit and hot tub. Easy access to Joshua Tree National Park. We got groceries in Palm Springs on our way in, not much nearby. Great stargazing! We would definitely come back here and wished we had more time to relax at this great property.

Marc Avatar
Marc
2/05/2018

This was an amazing location. The view was inspiring. The house was very clean, well curated and well cared for.

The desert boulders were the perfect quiet backdrop to escape city life for a few days.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Justin Avatar
Justin
2/01/2018

Fantastic home, Brad was a gracious host in all respects. 2 thumbs up!

David Avatar
David
1/28/2018

This place was simply amazing. So well taken care of and absolutely meticulously clean. It offered beautiful desert views, privacy, several areas to hang out outside whether Around the fire pit, hot tub or right outside your bedroom. So many amenities were offered to make it feel both like Home and a retreat such as blankets for outside use, pool towels, hair dryers, and a well stocked kitchen (pots pans, coffee filters, ice, and some spices). We loved our stay here and would stay again in a heartbeat.

Jennifer Avatar
Jennifer
1/21/2018

Three words location, location, location... the views and silence were mesmerizing and really aloud us to disconnect. The super comfy beds were awesome as well.

Justin Avatar
Justin
1/16/2018

Black Lava Lodge is a gorgeous, secluded respite from the city. The scenery and 360 views, alone, are worth the drive. Amazing bed, excellent hot tub, great communication and flexibility all made our stay a wonderful experience.

Mercedes Avatar
Mercedes
1/08/2018

My wife and I with our four friends had a wonderful time at Black Lave Lodge for New Years Eve!
Brad's communication was second to none. We really enjoyed the comfort of all the amenities, the location was great being near lots of local hikes and of course the famous Pappy and Harriets!
We'd all love to come back soon!
Thanks again 🙂

Tom Avatar
Tom
1/02/2018

We did a roadtrip and had two awesome days. Great place to get away and enjoy desert life.

Tim Avatar
Tim
12/30/2017

Nice, secluded spot in the high desert. Multiple rooms and bathrooms make this a good spot for families and kitchen is well equipped. Loved that there were hiking trails within walking distance. Concrete floors were very cold and hard, so I'd definitely bring slippers. The water to the house comes directly from a well and we thought it tasted a bit off, so bringing drinking water might also be a good idea. The only big detractor was the bees constantly swarming the hot tub looking for water. The property manager very kindly came out on Christmas eve to clean them out of the water (there were a ton), but they continued to be a nuisance.

Stephanie Avatar
Stephanie
12/28/2017

This romantic and picturesque airbnb is perfect for those who prefer to be secluded and a good bit away from the main strip in the Joshua Tree/Yucca Valley area. The house is really unique and the outdoor amenities (hikes, firepit, lounge areas, jacuzzi etc.) and views are OUTSTANDING. The beds were very warm and comfortable as well. Brad was extremely accommodating and is clearly an expert and professional host. There is a PDF with everything you might want to know provided and Brad is very quick with his responses if you have any further questions. For all you culinary ninjas out there... if you are planning to cook complicated recipes, make sure to bring your own pantry necessities!

Hanae Avatar
Hanae
12/17/2017

Incredibly nice place near Joshua Tree and Palm Springs. Comfortable house with lots of amenities and kitchenware, also has an awesome hot tub. I would like to stay longer and totally recommend this place and host! Thanks, Brad 🙂

Vladimir Avatar
Vladimir
12/12/2017

A girlfriend and I️ rented this space for a getaway near Joshua Tree. We loved how secluded it was and all of the areas to sit outside and enjoy the sunset - even though it was a bit cold this time of year. Kitchen had everything we needed for cooking a nice meal and the California king beds kept us warm during the cold nights. Would definitely come again!

Elizabeth Avatar
Elizabeth
12/07/2017

Absolutely loved Brad's place! The kitchen was perfectly equipped for us to cook our Thanksgiving feast. The space was simply gorgeous inside and out, and as secluded as it looks in the photos. The hot tub at night was breathtaking as this home if pretty far from any light pollution. I have stayed in quite a few airbnb's near Joshua Tree, but love that Brad's place has a terrific view of the boulder formations- made for amazing 360 sunsets. Also- these might be the comfiest beds I have had in an airbnb yet! I highly recommend this spot.

Layla Avatar
Layla
11/25/2017

The location is next-level amazing. Incredible sunsets and stargazing, and a very peaceful place to chill all day and night. Close to Pappy and Harriets and so many other great j tree spots, but you won’t want to leave once you get there.

Ariel Avatar
Ariel
11/21/2017

My second time staying here. It is gorgeous, tranquil, clean, peaceful, and magical.

Margaret Avatar
Margaret
11/19/2017

If you are looking for a luxury Hotel Suite in the middle of the desert, look no further...

Mick Avatar
Mick
11/12/2017

Clean and bright space with awesome patio and hot tub.

Clea Avatar
Clea
10/23/2017

This house is incredible! It's tucked away in the desert, incredibly peaceful and quiet, with amazing stargazing at night. Minimal cell service, but the wifi reception is great. Would definitely return.

Annie Avatar
Annie
10/16/2017

We had an incredible stay at the Black Lava Lodge - a beautiful, private spot in the perfect location. We loved the surrounding landscape, dotted with joshua trees and endless incredible scenery, and took full advantage of all the local sights to see, within reasonably short and simple drives (would highly recommend Smoke Tree Stables for horseback riding in Palm Springs). Check-in was simple and easy, and Brad was great at getting in touch with anything we needed to know or answering any questions. Great wifi, comfortable beds, amazing hot-tub under the stars. Finding the place was fairly easy, and Brad provided thorough directions - although the GPS may drop out so make sure to have them handy. The final stretch to the lodge on a dirt road looks a bit intimidating, but it's easily driveable and adds to the sense of adventure and a bit of frontiersmanship.

An amazing home and experience - can't wait to go back.

David Avatar
David
10/11/2017

Black Lava Lodge is beautiful. Location is quiet, peaceful and spiritual...a perfect place to unwind. Brad is a great host...very courteous and responsive. The house was very clean with a washer/dryer combo, well equipped kitchen and comfortable beds. Four of us rented the house as we were attending a wedding at Pipes Canyon Lodge, short walk up the hill from Black Lava Lodge. There's an outdoor shower and hot tub (big towels are provided) which we didn't have time to use as well as a closet full of games and a big TV. Internet service is available. THERE IS NO CELL SERVICE!! The host is very upfront about this so please don't go thinking your phone might work some of the time. It won't. No one meets you at the house. There is a #pad on the door, and you punch in the code you are given to gain entrance to the house. Unfortunately, I had the wrong code. This was completely my fault as I had two emails from Brad and looked at the wrong one. We had to leave the property so I could get service to contact him for the right code. This is the only time the lack of cell service was a problem for us. Again, completely my fault. There are lots of places at Black Lava Lodge to sit and enjoy the outdoors including a shaded porch on the house. We found the Adirondack chairs on the porch uncomfortable. Mexican blankets are in the bedroom closets, and these were much appreciated to wrap up in when we wanted to sit outside when it was cool. The cushioned outdoor couch and chairs were a lovely place to sit early morning or in the evening. It was too hot there mid day as there was no shade. There were not enough hangers in the closets (no pants/skirt hangers), and there were no drawers in the bedroom. There is shelving in the closet, so I was unable to pack some of my clothes but had no convenient place to put small items. Bathroom has a very nice shower and body wash, shampoo and conditioner were provided. More storage in the bathroom would have been helpful. There was a medicine cabinet and one small shelf above the toilet. Would I stay here again? Yes, and I would recommend it as well.

Suzanne Avatar
Suzanne
10/01/2017

Probably the best place to stay in Joshua Tree!

Jacob Avatar
Jacob
9/24/2017

We so enjoyed our visit - the quiet and the serenity was remarkable. I liked that we could hike stepping out the front door. The front porch and the backyard are so beautifully laid out and the beds, living room area are very comfortable. The kitchen is small but well equipped with everything you need. All the furniture is new with clean modern lines. Nicely outfitted and designed for two couples. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Randi Avatar
Randi
9/17/2017

Great location! Extremely clean! Really comfortable beds!! Great outdoor seating, fire pit, etc. we didn't have time to enjoy it all but would love to send a whole week some time! Pappy and Harriet's is a must visit! Great service!

Julie Avatar
Julie
9/10/2017

Beautiful and secluded!!!

Margaret Avatar
Margaret
9/04/2017

Black Lava Lounge is a modern getaway in a secluded location with amazing vistas in every direction. My wife and I wanted to escape the city and relax and this place really delivered. It had everything we needed so that we never had to leave and we spent our entire vacation outside enjoying the scenery.

Markus Avatar
Markus
8/31/2017

Such a wonderful weekend. The house is beautiful, clean with every amenity you could want. There is such attention to detail. It sits in a beautiful part of pioneer town with hiking right out the door and yet just minutes to pappy and harriets. i highly recommend this rental! its a total gem.

Jessica Avatar
Jessica
8/22/2017

Excellent location mid-way between Joshua Tree and Yucca Valley. Views from house the awesome. There are hiking trails within walking distance from the house. Be sure to get supplies prior to heading out. The directions given were very clear and the house was easy to find. The wifi is on basically on lockdown so limited functionality. You can do just basic stuff - was not able to even surf the internet. We had some issues with the Dish network but able to get it working. The tv is smart so can log into your Netflix, HBOGo, etc. As noted be sure to keep the doors closed - we noted but still chased a desert rat around for about an hour to get it to leave the house one night. There is no AC but a swamp cooler - it did a pretty good job of cooling the house down. Noted to the owner box fans would be nice. The house is very close to Pappy and Harriet's in Pioneertown. Nice place after a long day to just sit and listen to music. The house is as noted in the pictures- very basic - like a hotel. I was not aware that you pay for the areas you get access too. I found that odd! We had the whole house but no access to bunk house. But even the second bedroom is secured and given access depending on what you are renting and how many people. The house is fairly clean. The pros out ways the cons here and would rent again. It was a very relaxing weekend. Really enjoyed sitting in the backyard and watching sun going down then the stars.

Lori Lynn Avatar
Lori Lynn
8/13/2017

Brad accommodated everything we asked for (early check in, having a couple guests over). The place is beautiful and Brad was so friendly and quick to get back to anything we contacted him about. Lovely experience, highly recommend it!

Shannon Avatar
Shannon
8/06/2017

What a beautiful home! I couldn't be happier with the location, decor and ammenities! This house is simply gorgeous and CLEAN!! The host Brad is a total gem and responded very promptly to any of my queries. Hands down one of my favourite place to stay and will return! Wish I had more to time to enjoy the hot tub, fire pit, outdoor shower and dreamy skies and view! Thank you!!!

Arielle Avatar
Arielle
7/30/2017

A perfect place for perfect holidays. Beautiful house in a wonderful area. Thanks a lot for all.

Mathieu Avatar
Mathieu
7/26/2017

I literally cannot find enough superlatives to describe our experience staying here, and I'm a wordy guy. Brad was incredibly friendly and quick to respond when we needed anything - it was clear he really cared about experience, though we didn't meet him in person and were allowed to feel that this was our home for the eight days we stayed (would have liked to stay twice as long). Check-in was a breeze and finding the place, even arriving late at night, wasn't too difficult finding Brad's directions.

This location is a truly beautiful spot, with the rocks behind the house somehow creating a feeling of open space and intimacy at the same time. The house itself is very well-appointed and spotlessly clean, with comfortable bed, furnishings, towels and linens. It is a very inviting space that also brings the desert in - really the best of both worlds. We also made ample use of the outdoor shower, grill and hot tub, especially at night when the stargazing is exceptional. We've stayed at a number of properties in the High Desert, and they all have something special going for them, but this is a special place that we hope to return to as soon as we can.

Adam R. Avatar
Adam R.
7/18/2017

Absolutely awesome place - far enough to feel like you're on your own in the desert, but also close enough to town to easily get to town for supplies or visit the national park. Place was incredibly clean, has everything you need, and Brad was awesome responding to my questions. Wish I had more than a weekend to stay!

Chris Avatar
Chris
7/10/2017

My husband and I and our two dogs had an AMAZING stay at Black Lava. The place is beautiful! It is a great, peaceful getaway. The stars at night are absolutely amazing! Pioneertown or Yucca Valley were never too far away if we needed something. If you're looking for a quiet and beautiful getaway this is the place! Brad was great and responded to questions quickly. We will definitely plan another visit!

Brent And Priscilla Avatar
Brent And Priscilla
7/05/2017

Perfect ..... Quiet, relaxing location with amazing 360 views. Watching the wildlife was a nice treat... Place was well equipped and clean, linens and beds comfortable... will visit again

Mark Avatar
Mark
6/30/2017